On not choosing my own adventure.

In defiance of Web 2.0 protocol, this post will have not one but two points.  It will, in other words, have faulty granularity.  Deal, Web 2.0.

Grain 1:  Sometimes I just don’t want to follow any more hyperlinks.  I want to trust an author enough, and I want an author to have made enough of an effort, that I can simply read from point A through to point Z, stopping perhaps around point H to get another cappucino and again at point O to …powder my nose.  I want to stop being so mentally twitchy.  And when I finish, I want to feel like I have a new, single, focused experience to remember– That Book, not that nebulous half-hour (okay, hour-and-a-half) trolling around the blogosphere.  I want boundaries to experience.  And so as soon as I hit publish…and check out my two cute kitty sites…I will be going upstairs to read the biography of Chesterton that I started.

Grain 2:  (Related, but perhaps only by the hyperlink-induced associative thought processes of my twitchy generation).  One interesting thing about the best adventure stories is that the protagonists do not get a choice as to the task they are to take on.  They get a choice about means, sometimes– and they get to choose whether or not to say yes– but they don’t necessarily get to choose what their burden is.  Frodo didn’t get to say “fuhgeddabout this ring, I want to restore Prince Caspian to the throne of Narnia.”  Lord Percy didn’t get to say “fuhgeddabout these French aristocrats, I want to start a new order of chivalry and unite all the little warring kingdoms of this island into one country, a country which shall forever after be known as…England.”

And if they did get that kind of a choice…the stories would be the lesser for it.

Comment invitations:

1.  What is the connection, if any, between these two Grains of Thought?

2.  What is your Assigned Task?

Leave a Reply

