Misreadings

What Walter Scott wrote:

“Ay,” replied Fitzurse, “such is indeed the fashion of Richard– A true knight-errant he, and will wander in wild adventure, trusting the prowess of his single arm, like any Sir Guy or Sir Bevis, while the weighty affairs of his kingdom slumber, and his own safety is endangered.– What dost thou propose to do, De Bracy?”

“I-I offered Richard the service of my Free Lances, and he refused them– I will lead them to Hull, seize on shipping, and embark to Flanders; thanks to the bustling times, a man of action will always find employment.”

What, on the E train yesterday morning, not entirely awake, I read:

“Ay,” replied Fitzurse, “such is indeed the fashion of Richard– A true knight-errant he, and will wander in wild adventure, trusting the prowess of his single arm, like any Sir Guy or Sir Bevis, while the weighty affairs of his kingdom slumber, and his own safety is endangered.– What dost thou propose to do, De Bracy?”

“I-I offered Richard the service of my Free Lances, and he refused them– I will lead them to Hull, do some shopping, and embark to Flanders; thanks to the bustling times, a man of action will always find employment.”

Leave a Reply

