Call to Arms

Away to the hills, to the caves, to the rocks–
Ere I own a usurper, I’ll couch with the fox;
And tremble, false Whigs, in the midst of your glee,
You have not seen the last of my bonnet and me!

Ran into this (from Bonnie Dundee, by– here’s a shocker– Walter Scott) in a wonderful novel I finished over the weekend: A Princess of Roumania, by Paul Park.  And I was trying to be apolitical for 24 hours, as a discipline.

Going to order the next two in the trilogy.  I thought for a minute that Park was going to be a sympathetic-to-Christianity version of Phillip Pullman, but he seems to be actually, though less heavy-handedly, anti-Christian as well.  Amazing worldbuilding… it breaks me a little bit, though, when someone’s gift at worldbuilding is used to build worlds where God isn’t.

Leave a Reply

